In The Beginning…

You thought you were a god

just because you

created worlds.

And because

you thought you were a god,

you made short shrift

of the creation of worlds.

But you loved,

You loved them all.

 

And what worlds you created!

Worlds beside worlds,

worlds inside worlds,

worlds so young they

thought they were other worlds,

worlds so old they

forgot they were worlds.

And you saw that

they were good.

 

And in your worlds,

they laughed & cried

and danced and died,

and hoped & fucked

and looked

to the skies

because they thought

there was a God.

 

And they smote in the name of God.

Your name was God

and your name was Fate-

their Fate, your whim.

And you measured and

wove their strings-

And strings cut strings

in the name of God

and you thought that it was good.

 

In the Kingdom of Glory,

I sat on your knee

as you proudly spun stories

only a god could orchestrate

and you taught me to destroy

the worlds and things

you could create

and tangle and cut strings

with a practiced hand

on a whim.

 

And in your worlds,

they sang and screamed

and fought and dreamed

and burned and yearned

and feared

for their souls

because they thought

there was a

Devil.

 

And what worlds I destroyed!

Worlds within worlds,

worlds between worlds,

worlds so grand

they thought they were eternal,

worlds so small they

forgot they existed.

And I saw that

They never did.

 

And I thought I was the Devil

just because I

destroyed worlds.

And because

I thought I was the Devil,

I made short shrift

of the destruction of worlds.

 

But I loved,

I loved them all.

In the end.

[28june2011]

About Pami Therese

I am a fantasist. This means I’ve never been very impressed with the whole business of growing up, and have therefore decided not to. This also means I see around corners and like all sorts of imaginary things. I am very much myself, which is one thing today and possibly another thing tomorrow. View all posts by Pami Therese

Leave a Reply

